Facebook’s Latest Feature Is Going To Change Your Life, For The Better

You’d best believe it
Facebook’s Latest Feature Is Going To Change Your Life, For The Better
Shutterstock

There’s no feeling quite like sending a message and then INSTANTLY regretting it. You know the feeling I’m talking about? The one where all the blood seemingly leaves your body, you get dizzy and then BAM – you see that READ alert and you throw your phone away and go into extreme hibernation.
A slight exaggeration, yes – but, the fear that comes with sending a risky, potentially friendship ending text is real.

Luckily, the peeps over at Facebook have heard our cry and have officially rolled out a feature that allows you to DELETE messages.

The relationship saving feature is available on all iOS and Android devices, now.

To delete an unwanted message, all you have to do is tap on it and select “Remove for Everyone”. The only catch is that you need to do so in 10 minutes…

According to reports by online tech website TechCrunch, execs at Facebook began developing the feature shortly after Sony Pictures’ emails were hacked in 2014.

“After Sony Pictures’ emails were hacked in 2014, we made a number of changes to protect our executives’ communications. These included limiting the retention period for Mark’s messages in Messenger. We did so in full compliance with our legal obligations to preserve messages,” a Facebook spokesperson told online tech website TechCrunch at the time.

I, for one, am incredibly grateful.

 

You might like

New To The Workforce? Here Are Some Tips To Help You Thrive